RUIN AND BEAUTY

DEENA METZGER'S BLOG

Returning to Africa and the Elephant Ambassador

I am refering you to the essay The Language of Relationship: Engagement with Elephants again (see below) because it is the reason I am going to Africa with Cynthia Travis of Everyday Gandhis. Not for my / our own sakes, but because we are so heartbroken about the world. As you, who are reading this are, as well. While I am alive, I will not accept that we cannot save all life from the current trajectory of global destruction. Certain realities have not made enough of a difference in our behavior: that the climate is changing drastically, that we are responsible, that our disregard for the earth is criminal, and that modern warfare is a primary culprit. And so I return as a humble seeker to see if something unexpected and, perhaps unprecedented, might emerge from a soul and mind alliance with another most intelligent and similarly heartbroken species, unable, as we are, to change current non-indigenous human activity and violence. Some synergy on behalf of all species.
My first journeys, as chronicled below, confirmed elephant (animal) intelligence and agency, incontrovertibly. Understand that the elephants in the wild met me/us four times on four separate occasions, over twelve years, but at the same time in the same place! At a certain tree, in Chobe Wild Animal Park,between 5 and 6 in the afternoon in Botswana. Cynthia Travis, Valerie Wolf, Michael Ortiz Hill and I were together in Botswana on one of those occasions when the Elephant Ambassador met us directly and threw us the most precious gift possible, a bone of one of his ancestors.
Elephant culture speaks loudly of heart and relationship. We humans are not the experts in the realm of the heart. The encounters with the elephants speak to their spiritual and psychic awareness and skill. But now, what feels like an urgent journey, is on behalf of the possibility of a spiritual and pragmatic alliance between members of different species so that we, who the Kogi call, and rightly so, the younger brothers, might somehow shift all our ways.
I am /we are praying that the elephants will appear, that the Ambassador will come again, and that this meeting will, in ways I cannot predict or imagine, actually serve to align our human species’ heart, to re-tune, entrain us, that it will …. I do not know what, but that some way will appear that will serve all life, all our relations. I am going to this other species as a supplicant.
We will be in the Wild in Africa from January 4th to the 19th. Please keep the elephants in your hearts and prayers and open yourselves to whatever may be asked of us on behalf of all life. I had a dream some months ago in which I was recruited by the Radical Elephant Movement to participate in actions on behalf of the earth that were far beyond any ideas I had of how we might proceed at this time. This journey arises from that dream. And from our belief that such dreams are sent by the spirits and so we are deeply called to listen.
In hope and prayer, Deena.
(Feel free to share this if you think it might have value beyond ourselves.)

THE LANGUAGE OF RELATIONSHIP: ENGAGEMENT WITH ELEPHANTS

“There is a language older by far and deeper than words. It is the language of bodies, of bodies on…
deenametzger.wordpress.com
10 responses to “Returning to Africa and the Elephant Ambassador

  1. abravenewyogaworld December 30, 2015 at 12:20 pm

    Thank you Deena. This is an amazing mission. I fully trust your guidance and ability to be a carrier for this message. We are so lucky to have you. I am also happy to help in whatever way I can.
    Namaste and Blessings,
    Julia

  2. Carolyn Brigit Flynn December 30, 2015 at 12:51 pm

    Dearest Deena — A candle is lit for your journey, my dear one, as you travel to and with your beloveds to the great heart of the earth. Kiss the ground of mother Africa for me. You have been recruited into the Radical Elephant Movement–such Beauty in the dream!… and in your embodied action. Thank you for taking the walk from one to the other… though the journey is into the unknown. You have always been a guide. I love you. Carolyn

  3. Lj Ratliff December 30, 2015 at 1:13 pm

    Thank you for your journey for us all. My heart and spirit go with you to Africa. Prayers for you, the elephants, and the world. Holding space for you, Deena.

  4. James Dyer December 30, 2015 at 4:01 pm

    This work is not optional, without this work there wil no longer be options.

  5. Muz Ansano December 30, 2015 at 9:41 pm

    Dear Deena, I pray that we all listen deeply along with you and Cynthia as you make this journey. We might discover that each one of us is being recruited to the Radical Movement of some animal, plant, or other part of nature. May we all listen deeply and actively allow the dreams to take us on our journeys. In the mean time, thank you for journeying on behalf of all of us, on behalf of the whole Earth.

  6. Gloria Orenstein December 30, 2015 at 11:04 pm

    Dear Deena, As always your posts are so moving, so eloquent, so beautiful! Blessings on your trip back to Africa and to the elephants. I hope they come forth when you are there, and I’m sure they have a knowing that you are on your way.

    I am going to temple on Saturday to pray for my childhood friend Trudy, (the one I met at age 2, and who lived in Bev. Hills, and now in Montecito). Today she had open heart surgery, and it did not go well as the doctors found that there was almost too must calcification for them do accomplish what they had set out to do. They did one fourth of the work, but left3/4 undone, because she could not withstand it after six hours. They told me it is “touch and go” now for four days or so. I’m returning to prayer in the temple as well as at home. I haven’t been there much since I moved to Park la Brea, but I’m going to make an effort. I saw a vision of Jesus one night recently, and couldn’t figure out what was being conveyed to me–but now I see what it was about, and I’m doing what I can about returning to the temple just for prayers–not for the parties etc. I just wanted to send you my strong wishes for a new encounter with our elephant sisters and brothers and theirancestors in the spirit world.

    1. I had a nephew and his family here, and we went to the Tar Pits Museum—the tour began by conjuring up the planet before there were humans on it–when the great Ice Age mammals and the dinosaurs roamed the earth. Recently they have found a treasure trove of many more fossils. They are still retrieving so many species that were caught in the mud–and to think I live two blocks away. We have more fossils right here than exist anywhere else on the planet–so said our guide. I feel this is ancient hallowed land I have come to……..who would have thought that the Grove was sitting on top of sacred ground? 2. I will leave you now—to follow your heart to the land of the the great ones, and I look forward to reading more about this trip and your communion with the elephants along the way or when you return. Lots of Love, Gloria

    ________________________________

  7. Connie R Meester January 1, 2016 at 3:57 pm

    God Bless you, Deena. God Bless your journey & your mission. Love in the biggest sense! Connie

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  8. Jeanie Griffin January 5, 2016 at 3:21 pm

    I will be with you all in Spirit. Blessings to you and to Ambassador and his tribe.

  9. Jan McEwan March 2, 2016 at 10:13 pm

    I’m sharing this poem of mine here, in support of Deena’s & Cynthia’s return to Africa & the Elephants, and the unfolding work. This poem came from a dream. With love & blessings, Jan McEwan

    It Must Have Been Made For the Elephants

    It must have been made for the elephants,
    this long stripe of road
    from the heart of the Savanna to the heart of the City,
    so they can walk in with their families
    for a picnic in the Greenbelt
    or an evening at the opera,
    for they so love to eat outdoors,
    their sensibilities intelligent,
    their ears so keen.

    It must have been made for the elephants,
    this fine carving tool
    for cutting lace into bone, sharp & precise to use,
    so they can hone their skills
    to fashion bracelets
    and intricate statuary,
    for they so love to show off their gleaming tusks,
    to know others value them
    as much as they do.

    It must have been made for the elephants,
    this solemn requiem,
    of organ, bells & chorus ringing out in hallowed halls,
    so they can sing aloud their hope
    that something will arise
    from scattered memory & dust,
    for they so love to raise their trumpets,
    revisit where their loved ones fell,
    caress their bones.

    © Copyright 2015 Janet M. McEwan

  10. Marcelle Moran McGovern February 11, 2017 at 4:46 pm

    such important and beautiful work …I was part of a musical meditation a few years ago and we were visioning while listening to an incredible man playing the piano and I saw a circle of humans of all backgrounds, ages, and shades of brown holding hands with a large circle of elephants around them linking trunks and a wild storm of chaos raging beyond the 2 concentric circles which remained strong and safe…may it be so!

Leave a Reply

